Rapunzel: the perfect entertainment for the holidays

IMG_1019

Marc Kay and Rowan Bartlett in Rapunzel.

IF you have little ones and are wondering what to do with them in the holidays, then I suggest you head down to the Rhumbelow Theatre in Cunningham Avenue, Umbilo, Durban for the Actors Unemployed Company’s latest offering: Rapunzel.

The show stars Marc Kay, Tessa Tjasink and Rowan Bartlett and is directed by Adam Dore.

This classic fairytale comes to life in spectacular style, with high energy performances from the entire cast. Follow the Prince on his topsy turvy journey to find true love and rescue Rapunzel from the evil clutches of the Wicked Witch. Rapunzel is filled with love, laughter and audience interaction… you’re guaranteed to enjoy the show whether you are eight or 108!

After the show, the AUC will hold a short workshop (included in the ticket price). The workshop portion of Rapunzel will focus on basic performance skills. Participants will learn a little bit about how actors prepare, with a vocal and physical component. It will all culminate in everyone learning some of the choreography from the show and having a blast dancing with the cast of Rapunzel.

Showtimes:

  • Tuesday, March 22 at 10 am
  • Wednesday, March 23 at 10 am
  • Thursday, March 24 at 2 pm
  • Friday, March 25 at 10 am
  • Saturday, March 26 at 10 am
  • Monday, March 28 at 10 am
  • Tuesday, March 29 at 10 am
  • Wednesday, March 30 at 10 am
  • Thursday, March 31 at 2 pm
  • Friday, April 1 at 10 am
  • Saturday, April 2 at 10 am

Snacks and juices are on sale. Tickets are R70 at Computicket or through Ailsa at 083 250 2690. Inquiries: email roland@stansell.za.net

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s