Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards: Rewarding great shows and performances

Grant Almirall for Singin' in the Rain

Grant Almirall in Singin’ in the Rain.

CAPE Town’s Baxter Theatre is hosting the 51st Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards from 6pm on Sunday, March 20. The Awards are presented for distinguished acting, directing, design and technical abilities in theatre.

For over 50 years the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards has played a unique role in the growth of South African theatre through awarding excellence in professional theatre. This year, for the first time in the event’s history, the awards will boast many firsts; ranging from food and wine experiences to recognition of theatre development.

The awards are presented in 20 different categories and a total of 86 productions from 2015 were eligible. In addition, 66 student performances were considered for the most promising student award.

The judges for 2015 productions were Africa Melane, Dr Beverley Brommert, Christine Moritz, Eugene Yiga, Gillian Mitchell, Herman van der Westhuizen, Johan van Lill, Marina Griebenow, Peter Tromp, Steyn du Toit and Tracey Saunders.

“I want to acknowledge the amazingly passionate panel of judges, the support of the Distell Foundation together with the Fleur du Cap Wine brand as well as the theatre industry for the tremendous support the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards enjoys. I look forward to what the future brings,” says Melanie Burke, chairwoman of the judging panel.

For a production to be eligible, a run of a minimum of eight performances over a period of three weeks at the same venue is required.

Each award carries a cash prize of R15 000 and each award recipient is given a silver medallion. All voting processes are audited and overseen by the legal firm Cluver Markotter Inc.

The nominees are:

atandwa kani

Atandwa Kani is noimated for best performance by a lead actor for Sizwe Banzi is Dead.

Best performance by a lead actor in a play: Andrew Buckland for Tobacco and the Harmful Effects Thereof; Gerben Kamper for Samsa-masjien; Atandwa Kani for Sizwe Banzi is Dead; Nicholas Pauling for A Steady Rain; Albert Pretorius for Die Seemeeu.


Dawid Minnaar and Anna-Mart van der Merwe in Macbeth.slapeloos.

Best performance by a lead actress in a play: Antoinette Kellerman for Samsa-masjien; Rolanda Marais for Die Seemeeu; Sandra Prinsloo for Die Seemeeu; Jennie Reznek for I Turned Away and She Was Gone; Anna-Mart van der Merwe for macbeth.slapeloos


Marty Kintu (left) and Andrew Buckland in Blue/Orange. Photo: Oscar Ryan

Best performance by a supporting actor in a play: Charlton George for macbeth.slapeloos; Marty Kintu for Blue/Orange; André Roothman for Drif; Sven Ruygrok for Epstein: The Man Who Made the Beatles; Marius Weyers for Die Seemeeu.

Anthea Thompson for Cry Havoc

Anthea Thompson is nominated for Cry Havoc.

Best performance by a supporting actress in a play:  Jana Cilliers for macbeth.slapeloos; Antoinette Kellermann for macbeth.slapeloos; Martelize Kolver for Die Seemeeu; Cintaine Schutte for Die Seemeeu; Anthea Thompson for Cry Havoc.

Jemma Kahn for We Didn't Come to Hell for the Croissants

Jemma Kahn is nominated for We Didn’t Come to Hell for the Croissants.

Best performance in a revue, cabaret or one-person show: Terry Fortune for Remembering the Lux; Jemma Kahn for We Didn’t Come to Hell for the Croissants;  Jennie Reznek for I Turned Away and She was Gone; Klara van Wyk for You Suck (and other inescapable truths); Graham Weir for Dead Yellow Sands.


Audrey Poo in Orpheus in Africa

Best performance by an actor in a musical or music revue theatre show: Grant Almirall for Singin’ in the Rain; Charl-Johan Lingenfelder for Cabaret; Aubrey Poo for Orpheus in Africa; Jonathan Roxmouth for West Side Story; Steven van Wyk for Singin’ in the Rain.

west side story

Jonathan Roxmouth and Lynelle Kenned in West Side Story.

Best performance by an actress in a musical or music theatre show: Bethany Dickson for Singin’ in the Rain; Lynelle Kenned for Orpheus in Africa; Lynelle Kenned for West Side Story; Claire Taylor for Cabaret; Candice van Litsenborgh for Little Shop of Horrors.

little shop of horrors

Alan Committie in Little Shop of Horrors.

Best performance by a supporting actor in a musical or music theatre show: Dean Balie for Orpheus in Africa; Sne Dladla for Orpheus in Africa; Zak Hendrikz for Little Shop of Horrors; Stephen Jubber for West Side Story; De Klerk Oelofse for Liewe Heksie: Flower Power.


A scene from Cabaret.

Best performance by a supporting actress in a musical or music theatre show: Shannyn Fourie for Cabaret; Bianca le Grange for West Side Story; Jill Levenberg for Orpheus in Africa; Nkoto Malebye for Book of Rebellations; Michelle Maxwell for Cabaret.


Samsa-masjien, conceptualised by Jaco Bouwer and Willem Anker and written by Anker, is a piece that aims to engage in a dialogue with Franz Kafka’s Metamorphosis. Like Gregor in the Kafka story, in Samsa-masjien Gregor senior (a retired teacher) undergoes a systematic becoming-insect, which psychologists, psychiatrists and doctors ascribe to the auditory and tactile hallucinations common to dementia patients. Gregor sees insects everywhere, feels them walking on him and eventually feels himself becoming something both less and more than human.

Best director: Christiaan Olwagen for Die Seemeeu; David Kramer for Orpheus in Africa; Jaco Bouwer for Samsa-masjien; Marthinus Basson for macbeth.slapeloos; Sylvaine Strike for Tobacco and the Harmful Effects Thereof.

Orpheus in Africa by David Kramer

David Kramer is nominated for best new SA script for Orpheus in Africa.

Best new South African script: Samsa-masjien by Willem Anker; Orpheus in Africa by David Kramer; Siembamba by Philip Rademeyer & Penelope Youngleson; I Turned Away and She was Gone by Jennie Reznek; Dead Yellow Sands by Graham Weir.

Rosalie van der Gucht prize for new directors: Adrian Collins; Christo Davids; Jason Jacobs; Mdu Kweyama; Paul Noko.

Award for the most promising student: Schalk Bezuidenhout from UCT; Dealan Fredericks from Northlink College; Kgomotso Khunoane from UCT; Kiroshan Naidoo from UCT; Vashti Prins from US; Khathu Ramabulana from UCT; Mar-li van der Merwe from US; Sean van Noordwyk from US.

Technical categories

  • Best lighting design: Wolf Britz for Samsa-masjien; Patrick Curtis for Blue/Orange; Joshua Cutts for West Side Story; Guy de Lancey for Dead Yellow Sands; Albert Snyman for macbeth.slapeloos.
  • Best set design: Marthinus Basson for macbeth.slapeloos; Jaco Bouwer for Samsa-masjien; Conor Murphy for West Side Story; Saul Radomsky for Bad Jews; Saul Radomsky for Orpheus in Africa.
  • Best costume design: Marthinus Basson for macbeth.slapeloos; Simon Higlett for Singin’ in the Rain; Birrie le Roux for Orpheus in Africa; Birrie le Roux for Die Seemeeu; Marcel Meyer for The Tragedy of Othello – The Moor of Venice.
  • Best sound design, original music composition or original score: Marthinus Basson for macbeth.slapeloos; David Kramer for Orpheus in Africa; Kgafela oa Magogodi for Book of Rebellations; Neo Muyanga for I Turned Away and She was Gone; Pierre-Henri Wicomb for Samsa-masjien.
  • Best puppetry design: No nominations.

Tickets for the awards ceremony at the Baxter Theatre cost R200 at Computicket (0861 9158000). Guests can look forward to an interesting twist on a Fleur du Cap food and wine experience and will as usual be entertained by local talent onstage and in the foyer.

Follow the awards on Twitter @FDCTheatreAward and on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s